1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Next coaching sessions on Twitch: Kyyberi PLO Wednesday 20.6. at 20 CET -

Grim Grinding - Back into 9max

Discussion in 'Blogs and projects' started by hemme, Jan 30, 2018.

1. hemme

hemme New Member

Hey guys

First of all, thank you for a great forum and great videos.

I have been lurking around for a while and watched some of the videos. Mainly 9max. Great stuff I think.

Years back when I started playing poker I got into SNG's. I played with good results in the 5$ games, with a fairly basic strategy. Then my wife and I had some lovely kids, and I stopped playing.

Now work and family seems to leave some space to get back into poker. I can play when it fits my schedule. I am comfortable with sets of 8-10 tables at the moment.

I have been playing some sng's 9max the last couple of months. I start at the bottom at the 1$'s.

I deploy a basic strategy. Very tight early on, patiently in the middle game, trying to find stealing spots. At the bubble, I push with approximately 30-33% of hands. Call All-in range is quite tight. This is due to the fact that many of the players at the micros seem to lack a fold button:) So I try to adapt to this.

I was slowly growing my bankroll when I started using this tighter endgame strategy. Then I tried a session with opening new tables continuously when busting. That went south because of missing focus when dealing with opening new tables and killing popups.

Since then I have been struggling a bit. Maybe it's downswing, mindset, general variance, or bad play. Some sets are good but too many not quite.

I finish in the money around 39%. It is a minuscule sample size, I know. About 500 games

My focus is now:
    -getting back on track and grow sample size to 1000.
    -getting a hud
    -develop microstakes strategy, mainly about stealing and bubble play